Agrarian Crisis: Discussion Series

India’s Farm Bills and Agrarian Crisis: Discussion Series

Over 200,000,000 Indians sleep hungry every night which includes farmers, agricultural workers, industrial & unorganized workers and socially marginalized and 23·2% of men aged between 15 and 54 and 53·2% of women aged between 15 and 49 are found anemic when India let 65 lakh tonnes of grain go to waste in four months, Why?

In July 2019, the RSS/BJP administration promulgated three ordinances and passed them as law in Sep 2020. What are those laws? Why does the RSS/BJP administration push such laws in the midst of the COVID19 pandemic?

How the small scale protests started in Aug 2020 grew in large numbers in Nov 2020? Between Nov 28 and Dec 3, close to 300,000 farmers arrived in Delhi. How is growing as a pan India protest?

What lies are the RSS/BJP administration is spreading through their huge propaganda machinery about MSP(Minimum Support Price) and APMC(Agricultural Produce Market Committee)?

We need to understand these questions not only to save the farmers and Indian agriculture but also importantly how these bills will kill the food security of the common people which leaves us to the mercy of corporates for the food.

Please join the education series on peasant questions in general and current peasant’s protest in particular.


ZOOM JOIN DETAIL:
MEETING ID: 852 9765 8422 (no password needed)
Meeting Join URL: bit.ly/confAKSC

FACEBOOK LIVE:
Watch URL: bit.ly/AkscLive


UPCOMING DISCUSSIONS:

Discussion Series#4 (Topic: 2 of 2)
THU JAN 22, 2021 — 6:00 PM PT | 8:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM ET
(INDIA Time Zone: FRI JAN 23, 2021 — 7:30 AM IST)

NAMEDESCRIPTIONTITLEMORE INFO
PROF. VIKAS RAWAL

Professor – Center for Economic Studies and Planning,
School of Social Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University.

More info: https://jnu.ac.in/content/vikas
THE POLITICAL ECONOMY OF 2020 FARM LAWS<video will be added later>

Discussion Series#5
THU JAN 28, 2021 — 6:00 PM PT | 8:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM ET
(INDIA Time Zone: FRI JAN 29, 2021 — 7:30 AM IST)

NAMEDESCRIPTIONTITLEMORE INFO
PROF. NAVYUG GILL

Assistant Professor in the Department of History at William Paterson University, New Jersey.

More info about Prof.Navyug Gill
CONTINGENT SOLIDARITY AND THE KISAN-MAZDOOR STRUGGLE IN INDIA<video will be added later>

Discussion Series#6 (Topic: 1 of 2)
THU FEB 4, 2021 — 6:00 PM PT | 8:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM ET
(INDIA Time Zone: FRI FEB 5, 2021 — 7:30 AM IST)

NAMEDESCRIPTIONTITLEMORE INFO
PROF. R.RAMKUMAR

Professor – Center for Study of Developing Economies, School of Development Studies,
Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS)

More info: Prof.R.Ramkumar
TBD<video will be added later>

Discussion Series#7 (Topic: 2 of 2)
THU FEB 11, 2021 — 6:00 PM PT | 8:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM ET
(INDIA Time Zone: FRI FEB 12, 2021 — 7:30 AM IST)

NAMEDESCRIPTIONTITLEMORE INFO
PROF. R.RAMKUMAR

Professor – Center for Study of Developing Economies, School of Development Studies,
Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS)

More info: Prof.R.Ramkumar
TBD<video will be added later>

Discussion Series#8
THU FEB 18, 2021 — 6:00 PM PT | 8:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM ET
(INDIA Time Zone: FRI FEB 19, 2021 — 7:30 AM IST)

NAMEDESCRIPTIONTITLEMORE INFO
JENNIFER.D

TBDUNDERLYING CASTE CONTRADICTIONS IN PUNJAB & THE IMPACT OF FARM LAWS ON THE DALIT LANDLESS:
ADDRESSING THE CASTE QUESTION IN ONGOING FARMER’S PROTEST
<video will be added later>

PREVIOUS DISCUSSIONS:

Discussion Series#3 (Topic: 1 of 2)
THU JAN 7, 2021 — 6:00 PM PT | 8:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM ET
(INDIA Time Zone: FRI JAN 8, 2021 — 7:30 AM IST)

NAMEDESCRIPTIONTITLEVIDEO;
PROF. VIKAS RAWAL

Professor – Center for Economic Studies and Planning,
School of Social Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University.

More info: https://jnu.ac.in/content/vikas
THE CRISIS OF INDIAN AGRICULTURE: WHY ARE FARMERS IN DISTRESS?SPEECH:
https://youtu.be/LHT2bLePKb8

Q&A:
https://youtu.be/E25O5KHsjIw

Discussion Series#2
WED DEC 23, 2020 — 6:00 PM PT | 8:00 PM CT | 9:00 PM ET
(INDIA Time Zone: THU DEC 24, 2020 — 7:30 AM IST)

NAMEDESCRIPTIONTITLEVIDEO
Mr.G.N.NAGARAJ

All India Agricultural Workers UnionPEASANT/FARMER FARMING vs CORPORATE FARMINGSPEECH:
https://youtu.be/QMZD-qYL6xg

Q&A:
https://youtu.be/TYZuJimmg7c

Discussion Series#1
THU DEC 17, 2020 — 7:30 PM PT | 9:30 PM CT | 10:30 PM ET
(INDIA Time Zone: FRI DEC 18, 2020 — 9:00 AM IST)

NAMEDESCRIPTIONTITLEVIDEO
Dr.VIJOO KRISHNAN
All India Kisan Sabha
(All India Peasant’s Assembly)
AGRARIAN CRISIS:
ATTACKS ON AGRICULTURE AND GROWING RESISTANCE
SPEECH:
https://youtu.be/5b6Q-VFTGd8

Q&A:
https://youtu.be/4WEeNZqFDD0


CO-SPONSORS:

Ambedkar King Study Circle
Boston South Asian Coalition
Coalition of Seattle Indian Americans
Global Indians Progressive Alliance
India Civil Watch – International
Indian American Muslim Council
International Solidarity for Academic Freedom in India, UK (InSAF)
Hindus for Human Rights
Humanism Project, Australia
Periyar International
Voices against fascism in India, USA (VAFI)